The Chisellers by Brendan O’Carroll Review

Reviewed by David Savage

The Chisellers is the second book of the Mrs Browne trilogy (this trilogy is he inspiration behind the very successful TV series Mrs Brown’s Boys).

This book is starts 3 years after the first (1970) and Agnes Browne and her children are being forced to move from the Jarro in Dublin to a new housing estate in the country. It focuses more on her children (chisellers) this time from the eldest, Mark, who is on his way to owning his own business building furniture down to the youngest one, Trevor, who is considered by his school as a “national treasure” with his artistic skills. Thrown in is the black sheep of the family, Frankie, who gets involved with skinheads, drugs and gangsters.

Overall, again (as with the first) this is a well-written book where the characters come to life. It is filled with humour with my favourite being that when they move they had a new fridge that they used to store things like bread in but it was 3 months before Agnes realised that she had to actually plug it in! Without giving too much away this is a fun story with the message remaining the same, always look out for your family – if you mess with one child of Agnes Browne, you mess with them all.

I highly recommend that you order this trilogy right away, they will have you engrossed right to the last page.

Now off to start reading the last part of the trilogy: The Granny.

Rating: 5/5

RRP: £8.99 (Paperback) / £5.99 (Kindle)

Available to buy from Amazon here.


Show More
Back to top button