Mrs Browne Trilogy by Brendan O’Carroll Review


Reviewed by David Savage

The Mrs Browne Trilogy written by Irish comedian Brendan O’Carroll (you may know him as Agnes Brown in the very successful BBC comedy Mrs Brown’s Boys) is made up of 3 books following the lives of Agnes Browne and her children.

Part One: The Mammy – after the death of her husband Agnes Browne is a 34 year old widow left having to bring up 7 children by herself in Dublin. Read our review here.

Part Two: The Chisellers – the Browne family are forced to move from their home in Dublin to a new house in the country. Read our review here.

Part Three: The Granny – with the children now grown up and moving on to the own things and family Agnes becomes a granny at age 47 but with the break-up of the family sees new complications especially when Dermot is convicted of manslaughter and sent to 7 years in prison. Read our review here.

Overall, each book in this series is a great read. All are filled with laughter and sadness but all have the same defiant spirit – never mess with Agnes Browne or any of her children.

Great stories with excellent characters that really stand out and are very believable. A very well-written trio of books that are an absolute joy to read.

If you only buy a few books this year make sure that you get this set, you will not be disappointed.

Rating: 5/5

The Mrs Browne books are available to buy from Amazon and other good book retailers.
Visit for other titles.


Please follow us and share this post:
Visit Us
Follow Me